Sedated: How Modern Capitalism Created our Mental Health Crisis by James Davies

Sedated: How Modern Capitalism Created our Mental Health Crisis

Book title : Sedated: How Modern Capitalism Created our Mental Health Crisis
By : James Davies
Category : Books,Textbooks & Study Guides,Medicine & Health Sciences
Wordcount : 162
Rating : 4.7
Publisher : Atlantic Books; Main edition (3 Mar. 2022)
Language : English
Paperback : 400 pages
isbn13 : 978-1786499875
Dimensions : 12.9 x 2.8 x 19.8 cm
Best seller rank : 386,266 in Books (See Top 100 in Books) 340 in Psychology & Mental Health (Books) 950 in Psychiatry (Books) 1,110 in Anthropology (Books)
Salesrank : 386266

A provocative and shocking look at how western society is misunderstanding and mistreating mental illness. Perfect for fans of Empire of Pain and Dope Sick.In Britain alone, more than 20% of the adult population take a psychiatric drug in any one year. This is an increase of over 500% since 1980 and the numbers continue to grow. Yet, despite this prescription epidemic, levels of mental illness of all types have actually increased in number and severity.Using a wealth of studies, interviews with experts, and detailed analysis, Dr James Davies argues that this is because we have fundamentally mischaracterised the problem. Rather than viewing most mental distress as an understandable reaction to wider societal problems, we have embraced a medical model which situates the problem solely within the sufferer and their brain. Urgent and persuasive, Sedated systematically examines why this individualistic view of mental illness has been promoted by successive governments and big business – and why it is so misplaced and dangerous.

James…. you are just great! Thank you for taking us on this journey and to be able to see the wider perspective why the medicalisation of suffering is just a commodification of our distress, to create more wealth for some…. and no change for others.The anthropological style of writing shares also some valuable visual impressions of the process of investigation….. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.